Wind and thunderstorm forecast prompts Enel Distribución to activate prevention plan in the Metropolitan Region

Published on Monday, 27 April 2020

  • Technical and operational capacity has been increased in addition to reinforcing customer service channels.


Santiago, April 27, 2020 - Enel Distribución activated its prevention plan to respond to any possible incidents that could affect the electrical distribution system due to weather forecasts of rain, wind and thunderstorms in the Metropolitan Region. To this end, the company reinforced its technical operational capacity and its information and customer service channels.

Customer service channels include: our website at, twitter account @EnelClientesCL, Facebook account "Enel Chile" and our phone app "Enel Clientes Chile," which is the quickest way to get in touch with the company. Customers will only need to download the app, enter their client number once to register, and it will be ready to use. They can also contact us through our call center (600 696 0000).

The company has a georeferenced technological platform showing the electrical supply status detailed by zone and briefed by municipality. It is updated every 15 minutes on the website, and can be accessed directly through the link

In the event of service interruptions and in order to avoid risk of electrocution, individuals should not interfere with the electrical power network or attempt to restore power by their own means.


In the event of a power outage, Enel Distribución has more than 400 generators available for priority cases, which are assigned to homes with registered electro-dependent individuals. Likewise, the company distributed additional equipment to the different municipalities in its concession zones, so that they can also assist electro-dependent patients in their respective municipalities.

Enel Distribución serves 33 municipalities in the Metropolitan Region:

Enel Distribución Chile is the main electric power provider in the country, with 1.9 million customers. Its concession area covers 33 municipalities exclusively in the Metropolitan Region: Cerrillos, Cerro Navia, Conchalí, Estación Central, Independencia, La Cisterna, La Florida, La Granja, La Reina, Las Condes, Lo Espejo, Lo Prado, Macul, Maipú, Ñuñoa, Pedro Aguirre Cerda, Peñalolén, Pudahuel, Quinta Normal, Recoleta, Renca, San Joaquín, San Miguel, San Ramón, Vitacura, Santiago, Providencia, Huechuraba, Quilicura, Lo Barnechea, Colina, Lampa and Til Til.